Show Me What I’m Looking For

Show Me What I’m Looking For is one of my favorite songs by the band Carolina Liar.

Wait, I’m wrong
Should have done better than this
Please, I’ll be strong
I’m finding it hard to resist
So show me what I’m looking for

Save me, I’m lost
Oh Lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for
Show me what I’m looking for, oh Lord

Don’t let go
I’ve wanted this far too long
Mistakes become regrets
I’ve learned to love abuse
Please show me what I’m looking for

Save me, I’m lost
Oh Lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for
Show me what I’m looking for, oh Lord

Show me what I’m looking for

Save me, I’m lost
Oh Lord, I’ve been waiting for you
I’ll pay any cost
Just save me from being confused
Wait, I’m wrong
I can’t do better than this
I’ll pay any cost
Save me from being confused
Show me what I’m looking for, oh Lord

I adore this song. It was pretty much my anthem this summer. It came to a point where I thought down was up and up was down. The part, “save me from being confused,” was a line I sung outloud frequently. I sat around waiting for direction while taking no initative to change things myself. I wanted Jesus to write on the walls what I should do. This song is just funny to me now because I see that so many Christians really are saying, “Oh Lord, I’ve been waiting for you. I’ll pay any cost. Just save me from being confused,” but don’t they see that God has been there all along? There is no need to wait for Him. He is there for to you to call on whenever you need to. He’s there for you to call on when, most importantly, you should. And some Christians are willing to do whatever it takes to “find the answer.” What answer are you exactly trying to find? Your purpose in life? I have an answer right here for you. Open your Bible and read. I hadn’t been much of a Bible reader my whole life. Not that I didn’t enjoy reading it, I just didn’t do it that often. I’m not sure when, but at some point in the summer it clicked. My answers are found in the Bible. There is no need for me to freak out over searching for an answer because I know exactly where to find it. This has really been true for me lately. I am no longer lost. I am no longer confused. I don’t need to be shown what I’m looking for anymore, because it has been made perfectly clear in God’s Word.

1 Comment

  1. wow. i completely agree. people waste way too mcuh time wandering around looking for God and His answers when they can get them anytime. nicely put girl 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

