Mi Identidad (My Identity)

I read a blog about a person that is studying global communications. He knows that our society needs people that tolerate and understand the challenges of a complex world. I believe that I am one of those people because I come from another country. I currently live in the United States, but I was born and raised in Colombia until I was about 12 years old. I understand that to have a better future in this world I have to let myself be free and learn as many things about other cultures as I can. I travel a lot, I have been to 33 countries and 39 states in the U.S. I do not consider myself as being lucky for getting to travel around the globe but I just think that God gave me this opportunity to show others how people live in other parts of the world. I have had some experiences that I have found interesting about how people live in other places, or the customs and traditions that they have. For example, two summers ago I went on a cruise that started in Copenhagen, Denmark and ended in New York City, U.S. while we were traveling the cruise stopped in the Faroe Islands (a self-governing dependecy of Denmark). When we got  to Torshavn (the capital) I saw a beautiful landscape, I really love that place, but I looked around and there were all this smalls boats carrying some animals. When we got out of the cruise we asked locals and they told us that fishermen had found Pilot Whales nearby and so they were taking them to the beach to kill them, because it is a tradition there since everything that comes from the whale is going to be used. My dad took a video on it (If you don’t desire to watch it don’t)http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9AF40A1W8JI. I also got the chance to go to Greenland which I love and we got to a town called Qaqortoq and while I was walking around the town my brother told me to look in a trash can and I looked and there was this dead seal. But I understand that people have to kill animals that I would usually be looking at in the beach or in zoos, for them to survive. So I do not go against them even though I sometimes find it cruel or bad.

But my point is that living here in America I have realized that many people here do not care about the world around them. Some of the people at schools just complain and complain  for having a spanish class, french class, or other language classes which are not bad at all. People sometimes say things like “why do we have to learn other languages? why doesn’t everybody else just learn English?” I think that lots of people around the globe are learning English and they do not complain about it, some do but they realize that is good to learn other languages, I do not think that people over here should be so simple, I myself want to learn at least 5 or 6 languages in the future to understand people from other countries better and not judge them for what they do or how they live. So I just want to say that stop caring just about yourself and start thinking that we live in a complex world.

http://befranc.wordpress.com/about/

1 Comment

  1. Wow what you’re saying is so true. We do live in a complex world, and it is a stereotype of Americans to not care about exploring new cultures. I think that we all should be open to new ideas and learn about new cultures to broaden our understanding of the world around us and the people that inhabit it.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

